an introduction

This is new territory, and I’ll admit I’m a little nervous. Writing has never been my strong point but this is something I’ve wanted to explore for a long time and I’m anxious but very excited!

Welcome to The Garnished Bouquet.

My goal with this blog is to share my passions and bring them together in one place:

Flowers + Food

I love cooking, I love trying new recipes, I love learning different techniques, and experimenting with different palates and world cuisines. I want to be Anthony Bourdain when I grow up and sometimes I like to pretend I’m an even more badass female version of him.

Sometimes.

The rest of the time I’m just thinking about the awesome things I’d like to attempt making. One day I would love to explore culinary arts as a career choice, but right now I am completely consumed in the world of florals.

         

I’ve always had an affinity for flowers and in art school they were always a popular subject for me. I’d never considered the possibility of a career in floral design though, until on a whim I answered an ad on kijiji. One little interview sitting in the parking lot of a strip mall and four years later and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Nothing can really excite me quite as a fully as an open garden rose in all it’s glory, when the squiggly arm of a ranunculus greets you in the morning, or when a giant fluffy bunch of peonies are sitting there just begging to be cuddled.

 

Give me a bundle of mixed eucalyptus and magnolia and I’ll love you forever!

 
 As so eloquently defined in this excerpt from the glossary in Bourdain’s Les Halles Cookbook;
A Bouquet Garni is, in French cooking, traditionally composed of a sprig of flat parsley, 2 sprigs of fresh thyme and 1 bay leaf.
To me though, it is the perfect representation of both my loves, equal parts aesthetic and flavour.
So as my introductory entry I would like you to enjoy these tiny adorable bouquets of herbs:
2015/01/img_0895.jpg

2015/01/img_0905.jpg

 2015/01/img_0832.jpg

2015/01/img_0850.jpg

2015/01/img_0904.jpg

 2015/01/img_0901.jpg

2015/01/img_0906.jpg

2015/01/img_0903.jpg

2015/01/img_0859.jpg

I don’t have an exact direction I’d like to follow on this blog. I know that there will be recipes, experiments, temptatious food documentation and beautiful flowers. A complete mixture and gathering of everything I enjoy and hopefully what other crafty, foodie, florists would enjoy too.

2015/01/img_0907.jpg

One thought on “an introduction

Leave a Reply

