Baked Eggs with Mint and Coriander green Chutney

2015/02/img_1130-1.jpg

This past week we’ve been gearing up for the upcoming rush of Valentine’s Day. Working in a busy flower shop means that there isn’t much time for anything else, let alone being able to put together a simple breakfast. I try my best but I usually end up surviving on bulletproof coffee most days, so when I do have the time to prepare a meal, I make it count. This usually only happens on the weekend.

Weekend breakfasts are especially cherished. Waking up slow, sipping on a cup of one of my favourite coffees while catching up on the beautiful photos from my favourite floral and foodie friends on Instagram. I revel in the tranquility, knowing that I have the entire day to do as much or as little as I want. Being able to completely treat myself to a fantastic, well crafted, delicious meal makes all the little stresses of the past week melt away into nothing.

Last week with my abundance of fresh herbs from the bouquet garnis, I had made a batch of Mint and Coriander Chutney. I also purchased my first cast iron pan and couldn’t wait to break it in. The need to test out all the wares, i.e. Something that I could simmer or sauté, then toss into the oven to conclusion, brought me to the decision of baked eggs and the only logical thing was to put these two together for an Indian inspired dish.

Chutneys come in all varieties and can be used as a dip, marinade or sauce to accompany a multitude of dishes.
This one is simple and delicious for the cilantro lovers out there, the mint adds a burst of freshness and green chilis give it the perfect amount of kick. {for someone who usually puts a ton of hot sauce on their eggs, I love it}

I would totally use this chutney with chicken, kebabs, veggies, samosas, or, like my co-worker who first introduced me to coriander chutney, on cheese sandwiches!

2015/02/img_0946-0.jpg

I found a basic recipe for chutney that included these ingredients and just figured the ratios as per my own taste.

2015/02/img_1143.jpg

Mint and Coriander (Green) Chutney:
2 cups Fresh Coriander (cilantro) leaves
1/2 cup fresh Mint Leaves
3 cloves garlic
1″ piece of ginger
3 green chilis, seeded
1/4 small white onion
A pinch of cumin
A squeeze of lemon
Salt and pepper to taste
Water; optional if your chutney seems too thick.

2015/02/img_1084.jpg

2015/02/img_1085.jpg

Whip it together in a food processor (adding a tiny amount of water if it seems like its not moving) until it gains a thick but viscous consistency.

For the baked eggs I chose to accompany them with mushrooms for the pure fact that they are delicious and I would use them in literally everything if I could, so I began with sauteing mushrooms in the cast iron pan with butter and some garlic olive oil for flavour

2015/02/img_1114.jpg

2015/02/img_1117.jpg

Add a little salt and pepper.

2015/02/img_1119-0.jpg

2015/02/img_1120.jpg

When the mushrooms were perfectly browned I cracked a couple eggs on top with some crumbled goat cheese and a dash of turmeric (not pictured). Then popped them in the oven at 400C for about 7 minutes ***disclaimer to follow.

A topping of chutney afterwards and breakfast was served.

2015/02/img_1125.jpg

2015/02/img_1129.jpg

2015/02/img_1130.jpg

2015/02/img_1134.jpg

2015/02/img_1135-0.jpg

2015/02/img_1133.jpg

***I’ll be honest here though, they were delicious, but it took me 3 tries to get it how I wanted it. I’ve run into this problem before when baking eggs as they had the tendency to become very rubbery and get a tough outer shell. The first batch I over did them. Like burnt to a crisp. I was following a suggestion to cook them for 17 minutes at 400C which in my oven was WAY too much. Second batch was a little better but still over done at 10 minutes (These were fed to my good sport boyfriend). I just watched them like a hawk on the third batch and they turned out great. Further research and attempts will have to be made to perfect them.

 Even when recipes don’t work out how I’d like them to though, all creative efforts, successful or not, are never wasted. And today with a full belly and those sunshiny tulips on my table, I’m more than content.

To my florist friends, I hope you’ve taken it easy this weekend as well, and wish you luck with the busy week ahead!

Leave a Reply

